Apple TV+ snaps up psychological thriller series Surface

By

'The Morning Show' star Gugu Mbatha-Raw is coming to a new Apple TV+ show called 'Surface.'
The Morning Show star Gugu Mbatha-Raw is coming to a new Apple TV+ show called Called.
Photo: Apple TV+

Fans of Defending Jacob and Servant listen up: Apple has ordered a new psychological thriller series titled Surface. The show, which likely won’t debut on Apple TV+ until 2022, stars Gugu Mbatha-Raw, already known to Apple TV+ viewers as Hannah Shoenfeld in The Morning Show.

The series is written and exec-produced by Veronica West, who has previously worked on Mercy, Brothers & Sisters, Hart of Dixie and State of Affairs.

Surface is being made for Apple TV+ in conjunction with Hello Sunshine, Reese Witherspoon’s production company. Hello Sunshine has a strong working relationship with Apple. It has previously brought it shows including the upcoming My Kind Of Country, The Morning Show (also starring Witherspoon) and Truth Be Told.

No plot details have yet been revealed about Surface for Apple TV+. It will consist of eight episodes, with shooting set to start in 2021.

Apple TV+ is available for a monthly fee of $4.99. It’s also available for free (or, at least, as part of your device cost) for one year if you’ve bought a new iPhone, iPad, Apple TV or Mac. As an alternative, you can get a reduced rate as part of Apple’s various Apple One bundles. The streaming service launched in November 2019. One year on, it’s not yet challenging Netflix as the number one streaming service and likely remains a bit player behind the likes of Disney+. However, Apple has had far more hits than misses — showing that it’s all about quality, not necessarily quantity.

What are your favorite Apple TV+ shows so far? You can check out our list of the very best of Apple TV+ here. Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.

Source: Variety