iTunes Store to Open Up to Another 10 EU Countries “At Any Time”


Apple's iTunes Store is lost in translation in Hong Kong.
Apple's iTunes Store is lost in translation in Hong Kong.

A Polish newspaper reports that Apple’s iTunes Store is set to open up to another ten countries in the European Union. A launch date for the service is still unknown, but sources have reportedly indicated that it could come “at any time.”

Rzeczpospolita [translation] names the Czech Republic, Hungary, and Poland as three of the ten countries to finally get the iTunes Store, while the other seven have not been specified. MacRumors notes that out of the 27 countries in the EU, twelve are yet to get the iTunes Store, including: Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, and Slovenia.

It is rumored that Cyprus and Malta will be the two countries left out of launch, owing to their “geographical isolation” and their smaller populations.

All 27 EU countries have been enjoying Apple’s App Store for some time, but the delay in opening up the music side of things is all due to the licensing of content in each market.

[via MacRumors]


Daily round-ups or a weekly refresher, straight from Cult of Mac to your inbox.

  • The Weekender

    The week's best Apple news, reviews and how-tos from Cult of Mac, every Saturday morning. Our readers say: "Thank you guys for always posting cool stuff" -- Vaughn Nevins. "Very informative" -- Kenly Xavier.