Apple’s executive board gets Memoji makeover ahead of WWDC 2021

By

Leadership
Apple introduced Memoji in 2018.
Photo: Apple

Apple has switched out the photos for its leadership team for Memoji versions on its website ahead of today’s WWDC keynote. Apple did this once before in July 2018, when it adopted the cartoon avatars to celebrate World Emoji Day.

This time, it’s likely a preview of one of the things users can expect as part of the WWDC keynote. Apple has utilized Memojis as part of the advertising aesthetic for the virtual, developer-focused event. Apple is expected to show off iOS 15 today. One of the rumored features for iOS 15 is an upgraded Messages app, which will — by the look of things — lean into Memoji.

Apple introduced its animated Memoji in 2018 with iOS 12. This was one year after it introduced Animojis, the cartoon avatars based on cartoon animals on the iPhone X in 2017.

You can check out our preview for WWDC here. Alongside iOS 15, there will be new versions of iPadOS, macOS, tvOS, watchOS, and more. One of the big question marks hanging over today’s event is whether Apple will use WWDC to showcase new hardware. Usually, WWDC is focused on software, rather than hardware. However, this year it is rumored that there may be new 16-inch and 14-inch MacBook Pro models shown at the event.

What are you personally hoping for from WWDC? The event will kick off today at 10 a.m. PDT, 1 p.m. EDT, or 6 p.m. BST. For more on watching the event, take a look at our guide on to how to watch Apple’s WWDC 2021 keynote. As ever, we will be posting regularly throughout the event, so ensure that you check in on Cult of Mac for all your WWDC news.

Source: Apple