Apple waives developer fees for nonprofits, others in 8 additional countries


Apple waives developer fees for nonprofits, others in 8 additional countries
Developers won't have to shell out their hard-earned bucks for accounts if they fulfil certain criteria.
Photo: Ste Smith/Cult of Mac

Tim Cook wants Apple to be a force for good in the world. To help with this mission, Apple offers waivers on the usual $99 developer account fees for nonprofits, educational institutions, and government groups producing free apps.

Now Apple is expanding eligibility to eight more countries. That brings the total number of countries to offer waived developer fees to 13.

The new countries to offer free Apple Developer Program membership include Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Israel, Italy, Mexico, and South Korea. Countries previously offering the developer account waiver include mainland China, Brazil, Japan, the UK, and the United States. Apple began offering the waiver in 2018.

As Apple notes, the offer is open to, “Nonprofit organizations, accredited educational institutions, and government entities that plan to distribute only free apps on the App Store.” Requests are individually reviewed by Apple.

Fee waivers are not available for organizations distributing free apps or those with in-app purchases. It’s also not open to members of the Apple Developer Enterprise Program, or sole proprietors/single person businesses.

You can find out more information about Apple Developer Program membership here.

Apple’s focus on education is a long-standing commitment on the part of the company. The education market was one of the first where Apple carved out a big audience. Apple also regularly supports the work of nonprofits that it believes are doing important work around the world. Waiving one hundred bucks of developer fees is just one more way to help do that!