You can no longer downgrade from iOS 13.2 if you’ve already upgraded

By

You can no longer downgrade from iOS 13.2 if you've already upgraded
Apple has stopped signing iOS 13.1.2 and 13.1.3 following the release of iOS 13.2.
Photo: Charlie Sorrel/Cult of Mac

Following the release of iOS 13.2, Apple has stopped signing previous versions iOS 13.1.2 and 13.1.3. That means that it’s no longer possible to downgrade again from the latest version of iOS if you’ve already upgraded.

To paraphrase T-Bird in 1994’s The Crow, “This is the world of iOS 13.2. There ain’t no coming back.”

iOS 13.2 update unlocked the Deep Fusion camera feature on the iPhone 11 and 11 Pro. Deep Fusion uses the A13 processor’s neural engine to improve image details, enrich colors, and remove noise.

There was also support for the new AirPods Pro, the option to opt of the Siri grading process, and a plethora of new emoji characters. These emojis included the likes of flamingos, orangutangs, falafels, guide dogs, prosthetic arm and leg, and more. If you can’t imagine life without those, why would you ever want to downgrade again?

Apple no longer lets downgrade from iOS 13.2

Apple’s decision to stop signing releases after they’ve been superseded is nothing new. The most talked about features of new iOS versions are the kind of showstoppers we mentioned above. But the updates also come with important bug fixes. By pushing users to upgrade to the latest version, Apple can make sure that it patches up vulnerabilities.

Unfortunately, iOS 13.2 also happens to include a pretty egregious memory management problem. This is present in both iOS and the equivalent version of iPadOS. There have been plenty of complaints about it. Hopefully, Apple will solve those problems in the forthcoming iOS 13.3 upgrade.

Hey, sometimes these updates are one step forward; one step back!

Via: Apple Insider