Watch Google unveil its new iPhone rivals right here

By

Pixel 2 XL
Google's new Pixel 2 XL will be made official today.
Photo: Evan Blass

Google’s popular Pixel smartphones turn 1 today. To celebrate the birthday, the company plans to unveil two new models that will compete with iPhone 8 and iPhone X.

The Pixel 2 and Pixel 2 XL will be confirmed during a special event that kicks off at 9 a.m. Pacific today. You can watch the whole thing live right here.

Google’s surprise has been somewhat spoiled by recent leaks. The leaks gave us a decent look at both devices — and revealed some of their specifications. But the company has more up its sleeve, according to reports.

We’re expecting new Google Home speakers, a brand new Pixel laptop, and a refreshed Daydream View headset. It’s likely Google also will confirm new software features coming to Android 8.1 Oreo and the excellent Google Assistant.

Whether you’re into Android or not, it’s interesting to see what Google will deliver to combat the recent debut of iPhone 8 and the upcoming launch of iPhone X and the HomePod speaker, which is scheduled to arrive this December.

When does the Google Pixel 2 event start?

Here’s what time the event will start where you are:

  • 9 a.m. Pacific time
  • 11 a.m. Central time
  • 12 p.m. Eastern time
  • 5 p.m. British Summer Time
  • 6 p.m. Central European Summer Time

Where can you watch Google event?

You can watch it right here. Google is streaming the whole thing live via YouTube, and we’ve embedded the stream below.

Join us during the event for coverage of Google’s newest devices, and how they stack up against Apple’s newest iPhones.

  • Atlanta Owner

    Was looking at the reviews for the 1st gen of these on my carrier’s site. Actually, only mediocre reviews at best. Hoping the 2nd gen of these irons out some of the bugs.