How to factory-reset your Apple Watch-for-sale

By

If you're getting rid of an old Apple Watch for any reason (Series 7!), you should factory reset it.
If you're getting rid of an old Apple Watch for any reason (Series 7!), you should factory reset it.
Photo: Nomad

Unless you just emerged from a cave or a doomsday bunker, you probably know everyone expects Apple to announce new products releases next week — most likely including the Apple Watch 7.

If you’re considering selling, trading, giving away or returning your Apple Watch for that or any reason, we’ll show you how to factory reset it first.

Oh, and speaking of getting rid of your old Apple Watch, you might consider Cult of Mac‘s Buy-Back Program.

Why factory reset?

A factory reset is a good idea because it gets rid of all of your data from the smartwatch. That means nobody else can access it. And a reset lets the watch’s new owner start from scratch, without having to get around your password or anything like that.

And you have little reason to worry about losing the data on the watch you’re setting free. Most of your Apple Watch data, aside from things like credit card numbers, is automatically backed up on your paired iPhone and your iCloud account.

And when you set up your next Apple Watch — maybe that sexy new Series 7 — your iPhone will ask if you want to restore settings and info back up from your old watch.

How to factory-reset your Apple Watch-for-sale

Factory resetting your Apple Watch is a pretty simple process, no matter how you plan to unload the thing. You can do it from the Apple Watch itself or from the iPhone with which it’s paired.

Factory resetting from the Apple Watch itself

  1. On your Apple Watch, open the Settings app.
  2. Select General > Reset >; Erase All Content and
    Settings.
  3. Click on Erase All.

Factory resetting from your iPhone

  1. Place your Apple Watch and iPhone next to each other.
  2. Open the Watch app on your iPhone.
  3. Click on the General tab.
  4. Scroll down. Near the bottom, select Reset.
  5. Click on Erase All Content and Settings.