Instagram gains live video and disappearing messages

By

Go live with friends in Instagram's new Live Video feature.
Go live with friends in Instagram's new Live Video feature.
Photo: Instagram

Instagram announced two new features Monday that gives users more privacy controls while letting them be spontaneous with only the followers they choose.

Live Video will be added to Instagram Stores to let users connect in the moment with a live story that disappears from the the app after your broadcast. Instagram also is giving users the ability to send photos and videos that disappear from your friends’ inboxes after they have seen them – and you will be alerted when a user sees it or takes a screen shot.

The two features, announced on the Instagram blog, are part of a series of updates Instagram has incorporated to get people to use Instagram in a freer way, to produce content more selectively without having to worry about how it looks on a public profile.

Since introducing Instagram Stories in August, the company says more than 100 million people use it each day.

To go live with friends, swipe right to open the camera and press the “Start Live Video” button to share up to an hour. Your friends will be notified when you are live. “Live” will also appear under your profile photo in the stories bar.

You can comment as you watch the broadcast.

Disappearing photos and videos in Instagram Direct will be a feature available immediately.

A user can swipe right in the camera to make a photo or video and then press the arrow icon to send it privately. The messages will disappear after they have been seen and then can only be sent to people who follow you.

To see one of the disappearing posts in your inbox, tap a paper airplane icon or swipe left.

You can learn more about the features in the Instagram Help Center.