Facebook update makes it easier to avoid oversharing

Screenshot

Facebook is fine-tuning not only how you share stuff, but what content you see after you share.

That’s the goal of an update to its iOS app that is designed to cut down on accidental oversharing by giving users a preview of their posts before they go live. It could be something you don’t want the whole Facebook world seeing, like the embarrassing TV show you’re currently watching.

In a related experiment, some users of the main Facebook app are also seeing additional content suggestions from Facebook after posting.

facebook-now

TechCrunch first spotted the above content suggestions that Facebook shows for some users after posting an update. We asked Facebook to clarify when/if the feature will roll out to its entire user base.

Other updates to the Facebook app include the ability to create posts when you have a weak or even nonexistent internet connection — “they’ll be shared once your connection gets strong enough,” Facebook said. The News Feed should now load faster on older devices, like the iPhone 4s.

About the author

Alex HeathAlex Heath is a senior writer at Cult of Mac and co-host of the CultCast. He has been quoted by the likes of the BBC, KRON 4 News, and books like "ICONIC: A Photographic Tribute to Apple Innovation." If you want to pitch a story, share a tip, or just get in touch, additional contact information is available on his personal site. Twitter always works too.

(sorry, you need Javascript to see this e-mail address)| Read more posts by .

Posted in News | Tagged: , |