Facebook Now Wants To Upload Every Photo You Take On Your iPhone To Its Servers Automatically

Facebook Now Wants To Upload Every Photo You Take On Your iPhone To Its Servers Automatically

Move over, Photo Stream. Facebook is horning its way into iOS’s automatic photo syncing turf. The world’s largest social network is starting to roll out a new service to users of the iOS app that will automatically squirt up to 2GB worth of their most recently taken photos to Facebook’s servers.

The feature hasn’t rolled out to everyone, but if you’re one of the lucky users of the Facebook app who is being allowed to test the feature, this is how you do it, according to Techcrunch:

Go to the Photos app in the Facebook For iOS app’s sidebar navigation or the photos section of your Timeline and scroll to the bottom. There you may find an option to check out Photo Sync and then enable it…

Once you turn it on, the Facebook app will sync every photo you take on your device onto their servers in the background, storing them in a private folder with room for up to 2GB of pictures at a time.

The idea here, of course, is to make it easier for Facebook users to share pictures on the social network, but given how cavalier Facebook has proven to be about user privacy in the past, I can’t be the only one concerned about them getting a constantly-on window into my physical life, can I?

  • Atienne

    Wouldn’t it be funny if someone used the phone to take raunchy photos of a one night stand. Facebook does what it usually does and starts using those pictures even though they “said” they were private. FB uploads a crotch shot to an ad for family values and gets the crap sued out of them.

    You KNOW, there are going to be problems with this.

  • dieselmaniac

    Another reason “NOT” to use Facebook. Think I’ll delete the app on my iPhone today.

  • balcis

    we will see lots of accidentally uploaded dick photos after this thing.

  • brownlee
    Another reason “NOT” to use Facebook. Think I’ll delete the app on my iPhone today.

    Well, to be fair, it’s opt-in, not automatic. No need to delete the app.

  • thegraphicmac

    Only a complete fucking idiot would manage to allow raunchy photos to ‘accidentally’ get uploaded. That being said, Facebook is really getting out of hand with this garbage. We’re all perfectly capable of figuring out how to selectively upload photos—there’s no need to sync every photo.

  • dieselmaniac

    “Well, to be fair, it’s opt-in, not automatic. No need to delete the app.”

    For now… They’ll change it on everyone while no one’s looking, Facebook does that all the time…

  • bootedbear

    Just no.

  • Cgs101

    why would anyone need this feature!!?

  • nikster

    To Quote The Great Steve Jobs: That’s the stupidest thing I’ve ever heard.

    Ok so it’s opt-in. And hopefully WiFi only so it doesn’t blow my data limits on 3G. But – It’s still the stupidest idea ever.

About the author

John BrownleeJohn Brownlee is a Contributing Editor. He has also written for Wired, Playboy, Boing Boing, Popular Mechanics, VentureBeat, and Gizmodo. He lives in Boston with his wife and two parakeets. You can follow him here on Twitter.

(sorry, you need Javascript to see this e-mail address)| Read more posts by .

Posted in News | Tagged: , , , , |