Stop The Restore Windows Feature Three Different Ways [OS X Tips]

Stop The Restore Windows Feature Three Different Ways [OS X Tips]

While there are many features in OS X Lion that excite me, one that does not is the Resume feature. Clearly, Apple thought that opening windows from the last time an App was open would be a time saving feature, but I just find it annoying. Are you with me?

If so, we’ve got three separate ways to get rid of this behavior.

One, open System Preferences and open the General pane. Right near the bottom of the “Number of recent items” section is a checkbox called, “Restore windows when quitting and re-opening apps.” Un-check that bad boy and you’ll breathe a sigh of relief.

If for some reason you like the behavior, but want to keep it from occurring on an occasional basis, use the Shift key to your advantage. Press the Shift key when opening an app, and it won’t. Period. The next time you open the app, however, without the Shift key, it will behave according to the preference set above. If you have the Restore windows checkbox enabled, you’ll see all your previous windows on app launch.

Finally, for those with enough foresight to think of it, there’s the Option key. Press it when quitting an app, and the next time you launch, it won’t Restore them. This is sort of like the close all windows shortcut in the finder, as it just closes the windows for you, therefore, there are none left to Restore. Tricky, right?

About the author

Rob LeFebvreAnchorage, Alaska-based freelance writer and editor Rob LeFebvre has contributed to various tech, gaming and iOS sites, including 148Apps, Creative Screenwriting, Shelf-Awareness, VentureBeat, and Paste Magazine. Feel free to find Rob on Twitter @roblef, and send him a cookie once in a while; he'll really appreciate it.

(sorry, you need Javascript to see this e-mail address)| Read more posts by .

Posted in OS X, Tips & Tricks | Tagged: , , , , |