| Cult of Mac

Surface finds solid ground with straight-up storytelling [Apple TV+ recap] ★★★

By

★★★
Will Sophie (played by Gugu Mbatha-Raw) get to the bottom of things?
Photo: Apple TV+

Surface, the new Apple TV+ mystery series about a woman who can’t remember her life or lies, keeps up the erotic intrigue this week. The show avoids all of its worst tendencies for a basically good fourth episode.

Amnesiac Sophie and her lover Thomas clandestinely chase leads as they try to solve the mystery of who almost killed her. Sophie’s husband, James, desperately runs around trying to hide his crimes, and Caroline gets pulled back into his orbit once again.

The investigation and the cover-up proceed apace. It’s just a matter of who’s smarter, more thorough and more careful.

Shallow new mystery Surface puts style over substance [Apple TV+ recap] ★★☆☆☆

By

Surface recap: Gugu Mbatha-Raw plays Sophie, a woman plagued by confusing flashbacks, in Surface.★★☆☆☆
Gugu Mbatha-Raw plays Sophie, a woman plagued by confusing flashbacks, in Surface, which premieres today.
Photo: Apple TV+

Glossy mystery series Surface gets off to a bumpy, soapy start this week on Apple TV+. Gugu Mbatha-Raw (who you might know from The Morning Show) stars as Sophie, a woman who lost her memory after what could have been an accident or a suicide attempt.

Like Truth Be Told, another Apple TV+ series from producer Reese Witherspoon, this one is a prestige look at a woman undergoing a lot of changes in her life as the result of crime … or is it?

Surface trailer dips into secrets exposed in the sexy psychological thriller

By

'Surface' trailer dips into secrets exposed in the sexy psychological thriller
Surface premieres globally July 29, 2022 on Apple TV+.
Photo: Apple TV+

The first trailer for the psychological thriller Surface lets viewers dip their toes into the central mystery of the upcoming series: What if you woke up one day and didn’t know your own secrets?

The show premiers on Apple TV+ in late July, and stars Gugu Mbatha-Raw, best known for appearing in Apple’s critically acclaimed The Morning Show.

Sexy psychological thriller Surface premieres on Apple TV+ in July

By

Sexy psychological thriller 'Surface' premieres on Apple TV+ in July
This is our first look at Gugu Mbatha-Raw in Surface, coming this summer to Apple TV+.
Photo: Apple TV+

Apple TV+ revealed that the psychological thriller Surface from Veronica West will premiere on July 29. It stars Gugu Mbatha-Raw, best known for appearing in Apple’s critically acclaimed The Morning Show.

The upcoming series asks, what if you woke up one day and didn’t know your own secrets?

Apple TV+ snaps up psychological thriller series Surface

By

'The Morning Show' star Gugu Mbatha-Raw is coming to a new Apple TV+ show called 'Surface.'
The Morning Show star Gugu Mbatha-Raw is coming to a new Apple TV+ show called Called.
Photo: Apple TV+

Fans of Defending Jacob and Servant listen up: Apple has ordered a new psychological thriller series titled Surface. The show, which likely won’t debut on Apple TV+ until 2022, stars Gugu Mbatha-Raw, already known to Apple TV+ viewers as Hannah Shoenfeld in The Morning Show.

The series is written and exec-produced by Veronica West, who has previously worked on Mercy, Brothers & Sisters, Hart of Dixie and State of Affairs.

Former Mac boss thinks Apple Silicon could break up Windows and Intel

By

Microsoft Surface Pro X
Now that Apple is giving up Intel, and Surface Pro X shows Microsoft is considering it, the future could be grim for Intel.
Photo: Microsoft

Macs moving from Intel to Apple Silicon could cause Windows computer-makers to dump Intel as well, according to Jean-Louis Gassée, the former head of Mac development back in the 1980s. He thinks the move could be led by Microsoft.

Microsoft plans dual-screen Surface tablet with Android apps

By

Microsoft-Surface
It will look very different to a standard Surface tablet.
Photo: Microsoft

Microsoft is rumored to be working on a new dual-screen Surface tablet that will run Android apps.

The slate, which is codenamed Centaurus, will reportedly pack two 9-inch displays that fold together like a book. Supply chain sources expect it to launch in the first quarter or first half of 2020.

Microsoft unveils monstrously expensive Surface Hub 2S

By

Microsoft
The Surface Hub 2S is yuuuuuge!
Photo: Microsoft

Microsoft unveiled its vision for the future of collaborative computing today and if your business wants in on the action, it won’t be cheap.

The Windows-maker’s newest PC is giant touchscreen that can be wheeled around from meeting room to meeting room, allowing everyone in the office to work together on one display. There’s a 50-inch model that is set to come out in June, but the company also teased an ungodly 85-inch version of the Microsoft Surface Hub 2 that will come down the pipeline in the future.

Microsoft’s new Surface Go ad blasts iPad as a child’s toy

By

Surface Go ad 2018
Don’t give an iPad, apparently.
Photo: Microsoft

Think twice about buying your little ones an iPad for Christmas. Once they reach a certain age, Apple’s tablet just isn’t good enough, according to a new Microsoft holiday ad.

The hilarious 30-second clip features a young girl singing about all the reasons why the Surface Go is a better option. It suggests the iPad is a toy — not a “real computer” that’s fit for work.

You can now buy Microsoft’s newest competitor to iPad

By

Microsoft Surface Go
Surface Go puts the power of Windows 10 in your palms.
Photo: Microsoft

Microsoft’s latest competitor to the iPad, the more affordable Surface Go, is now available to order.

Prices start at just $399 in the U.S., and for that you get an Intel Pentium Gold processor, 4GB of RAM, 64GB of storage, and a 10-inch PixelSense display. You can also enjoy Windows 10 in the lightweight S mode.