How to disable notifications while screen sharing in iOS and iPadOS 15

By

Disable notifications while screen sharing
Don't let others see your incoming alerts.
Image: Killian Bell/Cult of Mac

Apple’s newest iOS and iPadOS 15 beta, rolled out to registered developers on Tuesday, gives you the ability to automatically disable notifications when screen sharing. The toggle ensures others cannot see your incoming alerts.

Here’s how to activate the block on iPhone and iPad.

No one really wants their private notifications to be popping up while screen sharing or screen mirroring. Whether you’re watching a movie with friends or presenting in the office, you want your alerts to stay out of the way.

It’s a lot easier to make that happen in iOS and iPadOS 15, thanks to a new screen sharing toggle within your Notifications settings. Here’s how to use it.

How to disable notifications while screen sharing

First, you’ll need to be running iOS or iPadOS 15 beta 3 or later, which is currently only available to registered developers. The feature hasn’t yet made its way to public beta releases, though that should happen soon.

Next, follow these steps:

  1. Open the Settings app on your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Tap Notifications.
  3. Tap Screen Sharing.
  4. By default, notifications should already be disabled while screen sharing. But if they’re not, tap the toggle to turn them off.
Disable notifications while screen sharing
Notifications should be disabled by default while screen sharing.
Image: Killian Bell/Cult of Mac

Your notifications will now be disabled automatically while you’re sharing your screen, but they will continue to appear as normal when screen sharing stops. There’s no need to toggle Do Not Disturb manually anymore.

iOS and iPadOS 15 out this fall

iOS and iPadOS 15 are scheduled to make their public debuts this fall, and they’ll be free to download on all compatible devices. If you don’t want to wait, you can get your hands on the public betas now.