iOS 10.3 inadvertently re-enables iCloud features you disabled

By

iCloud iPhone
Have you had this email yet?
Photo: Jim Merithew/Cult of Mac

Apple warns that the iOS 10.3 update rolled out last week could inadvertently re-enable some iCloud features that users previously disabled.

Users have been asked to revisit the iCloud settings page to disable any services they do not use.

Its version number suggests iOS 10.3 was just an incremental upgrade, but it actually brought a number of significant changes and improvements, including the Find My AirPods feature and Apple’s new APFS file system.

The update also sped up animations to make your iPhone and iPad feel faster, and fixed a bug that allowed for “cyberattacks” on 911 contact centers.

Unfortunately, iOS 10.3 introduced a glitch of its own, causing previously disabled iCloud services to be re-enabled.

“We discovered a bug in the recent iOS 10.3 software update that impacted a small number of iCloud users,” explains Apple in an email to some customers. “This may have inadvertently reenabled some iCloud services that you had previously disabled on your device We suggest you go to iCloud settings on your iOS device to make sure that only the services you’d like to use are enabled.”

Apple says the bug does not affect iCloud Photo Library, iCloud Keychain and Find My iPhone. It does affect other iCloud services, though. Apple addressed the problem in its subsequent iOS 10.3.1 release, so you won’t need to do anything if you skipped iOS 10.3.

However, if you installed iOS 10.3 prior to installing iOS 10.3.1, you could be affected. To check which iCloud services are enabled for you, open the Settings app on your iPhone, iPad or iPod, then tap iCloud. You can use the toggles to disable services you don’t need.

Via: MacRumors