The iPhone 4S Will Launch In 15 More Countries Next Week, Including Hong Kong, New Zealand and South Korea


Apple's Hong Kong Store (credit: wZa HK)
Apple's Hong Kong Store (credit: wZa HK)

Today Apple announced that it will begin selling the iPhone 4S in 15 more countries starting on November 11th, including Hong Kong and South Korea. The news is part of an aggressive roll-out by the tech giant, which hopes to have the iconic smartphone in 70 countries by the end of December.

The tech giant said it will begin selling the iPhone 4S starting next Friday, with pre-sales beginning November 4, in the following countries: Hong Kong, South Korea, Greece, Portugal, Armenia, Bulgaria, El Salvador, Guatemala, Malta, Montenegro, New Zealand, Panama, Poland and Romania. These nations are in addition to the 22 countries the Cupertino, Calif. firm announced last week.

First launched mid-October in four countries, including the U.S., Canada, the U.K., France Germany and Japan, the handset’s introduction has surpassed Apple CEO Tim Cook’s “wildest dreams.”

“We couldn’t have gotten off to a better start than we did with the iPhone 4S,” Cook said.

During its recent earnings conference call, Cook said he was “confident” that iPhone sales for the current three-month financial period would set another record.

The news that the iPhone 4S will be arriving next week in South Korea is particularly intriguing, given the continuing legal battle between Apple and Samsung. Earlier today, we reported the South Korean-based Samsung is demanding a court force Apple to turn over the iPhone 4S source code, as well as subsidy agreements between the iPhone maker and Australian carriers.