WhatsApp’s latest update give users more time to delete accidental messages after they’ve been sent.
Its message deletion feature, introduced last October, previously gave us just seven minutes to undo a potential mess. Now the “delete for everyone” option is available for just over an hour.
If you find yourself frequently sending messages you later regret, you need a messaging service that lets you pretend they never happened. That’s exactly what you get with WhatsApp’s message deletion feature — and now you have even more time to clean up after yourself.
WhatsApp extends message deletion window
WABetaInfo reports that the latest version of WhatsApp extends the message deletion window significantly — from just seven minutes to a strangely specific one hour, eight minutes, and 16 seconds. This gives you time to delete entire conversations if you need to.
A new WhatsApp for iOS update (2.18.31) is available on AppStore.
It is a bug fixes update, but it has the new “Delete for everyone” limit, that’s 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds.
— WABetaInfo (@WABetaInfo) March 8, 2018
The “delete for everyone” option, as its name suggests, removes the message from all devices. You’ll no longer see it as the sender — and neither will any of the recipients. It’s available in both one-to-one conversations and group chats.
WhatsApp is yet to confirm the increase or explain the decision behind it. The service doesn’t yet offer a temporary messaging feature like Snapchat, but this gives users the ability to send messages that can be deleted after the recipient has had plenty of time to read them.