How to disable word predictions on the MacBook Pro’s Touch Bar

By

MacBook
Word predictions are barred from bar exams.
Photo: Ste Smith/Cult of Mac

A number of U.S. states have banned the new MacBook Pro with Touch Bar from law exams due to the predictive text feature that suggests words as you type. However, others will still allow it so long as predictive text is disabled.

Here’s how to turn off the feature on your machine.

Disable all those pretty (useless) animations to speed up your iPhone

By

Your iPhone will feel a lot snappier with this little trick.
Your iPhone will feel a lot snappier with this little trick.
Photo: Rob LeFebvre/Cult of Mac

If you’re still rocking an older iPhone, you might notice that things are starting to feel sluggish when you run the latest iOS 9.3.

If so, there’s a quick trick to speed up your iPhone: simply disable those pretty animations in iOS 9. Your iPhone will feel quite a bit snappier as a result.

Here’s how.

Turn Off Gmail ‘Feature’ That Lets Google+ Strangers Email You [Tip]

By

post-261906-image-9c47ab759f86a4da67680aea87e8e268-jpg

Google controversially brought Gmail and Google+ closer together this week by introducing a new feature called Email via Google+, which allows anyone with a Google+ account to send messages to your Gmail inbox — even if they don’t have your email address. Unsurprisingly, most Gmail users aren’t so keen on it.

But you’ll be pleased to know there is a quick and easy way to disable Email via Google+ — just follow the steps below.

Disable The Parallax Effect In iOS 7 Beta [iOS Tips]

By

Reduce Motion iOS 7

While the style of iOS has been described as flatter, that’s typically more true of the icon design and some of the panel and font combinations than the entire operating system.

In fact, there’s a subtle parallax effect that can be seen pretty easily behind the home page icons. I use the space and stars wallpaper, and when I tilt or twist my iPhone 5 running iOS 7, I can definitely see things almost move, or change perspective.

It’s a slick visual feature, but if it drives you nuts, or you feel icky with it in the background there, here’s how to disable it.

Disable Lion’s Resume Checkbox When Shutting Down [Video How-To]

By

Resume

One of the most annoying features in OS X Lion for me has been the little checkbox on the shutdown dialog box that states, “Reopen windows when logging back in.” Going through the trouble of managing this checkbox every time I shut down is a hassle I’d rather not go through. Fortunately, there is a neat little Terminal trick that will allow you to render this button useless, as I’ll show you in the video below.