Facebook Messenger now lets you unsend messages, but be quick!

By

Facebook Messenger unsend
It’s about time!
Photo: Facebook

Facebook Messenger is finally giving users the ability to unsend messages.

The feature had previously been exclusive to Facebook executives, but now it’s rolling out to everyone in the latest version of the app. You’ll have to act fast to remove accidental messages, though — and don’t think that you’ll be able to completely hide your tracks.

completely covered

We’ve all sent messages to the wrong person, or messages that we quickly regret sending altogether. Many messaging apps give users the ability to delete them. Now Facebook is catching up.

Facebook Messenger gets an upgrade

Facebook makes it incredibly simple to delete messages on Messenger, whether you sent them to one person or a group of friends.

Simply tap on the message you wish to delete and select the Remove for Everyone option. You will need to act fast, though: You only get 10 minutes to delete a message after sending it.

One thing you should be aware of, however. Unsending a Facebook message does not completely cover your tracks. The deleted message will be replaced by text alerting everyone in the conversation that the message was removed.

The unsend messages feature is now available to Messenger users around the world. Just make sure you are using the latest version of the app on Android and iOS.