Swipe left for no, swipe right for yes. That’s how Tinder used to work.
Now you’ll be able to send Tinder profiles along to your friends, playing matchmaker along the way, with a little tap on a Share icon, which is rolling out to users as we speak.
When you find that cute person you think would be perfect for your BFF, you can now send his or her Tinder profile along. You’ll get dibs at the front table for the wedding, of course.
When you tap the share icon, you’ll send a temporary link that will expire after five clicks or 72 hours. You can also opt-out of this “feature” in Tinder’s Discovery settings.
According to Mel Magazine, you’ll be able to share potential dates via text message, GroupMe, WhatsApp, Gmail, Slack, Evernote and LinkedIn (for some reason).
While this might seem like a good idea on the face of it, people being the fascinating little monkeys that they are, we’ll probably see more Tinder bashing as a result. You know — how everyone screenshots the most bizarre Tinder profiles and then sends them around to have their friends make fun of the weird ones?
The new feature could take some time to roll out, of course, so keep an eye on your own Tinder app. Do you see the new icon?