Apple brings two-step verification to 48 new countries

Apple brings two-step verification to 48 new countries


iOS passcode

Photo: Killian Bell/Cult of Mac

Today Apple rolled out two-step verification for Apple ID accounts in 48 new countries. With the addition of countries like China, Japan, India, and France, two-step verification for Apple IDs is now supported in a total of 59 countries. Only 11 countries offered the extra security measure until today.

Two-step verification is designed to keep hackers from comprising an Apple ID through password recovery. Once enabled, a temporary passcode will be sent to a registered iOS device via SMS any time you sign into Apple’s website to manage your account, make an iTunes Store purchase from a new device, or get customer support from Apple.

While many will likely leave the future turned off, it’s an important option to have as more online services like Gmail promote two-step authentication moving forward.

You can turn two-step verification on for your Apple ID in account settings online. Here’s the full list of countries where Apple offers two-step verification:

Screen Shot 2014-07-17 at 4.14.35 PM

Source: Apple
Via: 9to5Mac


Daily round-ups or a weekly refresher, straight from Cult of Mac to your inbox.

  • The Weekender

    The week's best Apple news, reviews and how-tos from Cult of Mac, every Saturday morning. Our readers say: "Thank you guys for always posting cool stuff" -- Vaughn Nevins. "Very informative" -- Kenly Xavier.